Just Keep Running

Happy belated Thanksgiving!

I hope you all had a nice holiday. DH and I visited my family and it was great spending time with them. I’m feeling recharged, especially after a HECTIC 2 weeks at work. As a side note, I’m glad that the holidays have worked out well for DH and I. His folks traditionally go north for Thanksgiving, and Thanksgiving is one of the few times a year that all of my family get together. Traditionally my family spends Christmas at home, and we go to my in-laws for Christmas.

Anyway, nothing new on the baby front. I realized about a week ago that I booked my appointment to get my eggs checked 2 months out instead of a month (math was never my strong suit). We’ll see in 4 days if I need to keep that appointment.

There is news on the cat front though. DH and I decided to adopt 2 kittens after Christmas. My brother and his girlfriend just adopted one and after seeing some of the photos and video of their kitten I realized how much I missed having a fuzzball around. We are getting 2 so that they have a playmate while we’re gone. Our last cat had some behavior issues that could have been linked to us not being home a whole lot due to work. Although I’m pretty sure he slept most of the day. It’s been hard resisting adopting a cat before Christmas, but then I remember how our last cat kept climbing the tree, knocking down ornaments, and urinating on the tree skirt.

DH and I have also decided to move (again!) next year, but to a different apartment in our building. We absolutely love where we live right now and we’re in no rush to buy a house. We want to save for a sizeable down payment and I’m not sure how long I want to stay at my current job. I get bored with routine but it’s been awesome having a short commute.

On an unrelated point, I think I mentioned previously that I’ve gotten into running with DH. I use the Map My Run app to log my routes and times. I’m at just under a 14 minute mile as of today, which is about 2 minutes faster than when I started over the summer. However, last month I hit a personal record of a 12:37 minute mile. I was getting closer to that number today but my allergies have been off the wall and I was mentally struggling. Not sure what exactly was going on but I was having a hard time focusing. I definitely get more mileage running outside than running on a treadmill, which really motivated me to get into running after discovering that. Other things that I have found are that shoes make a huge difference. I gave myself an early Christmas present of 2 pairs of running shoes and they have been fantastic. My goal is to work up to running 10 miles a week and doing my first 5k early next year. I’m running close to that once a week now but I want to be able to consistently run that distance without stopping. Right now I can go about 3/4 of a mile without stopping. Since October 30 I’ve run close to 21 1/2 miles!

In addition to the running, I decided last week (as in the day after Thanksgiving) that I needed to further rein in my eating. Normally I eat fairly healthy but I also get sidetracked by love of dark beer and carbs. So, to counter that I am going to make a weekly meal plan that is realistic but keeps me disciplined. For example, one of the days this week I’ll have a bowl of Kashi cereal with almond milk (pre-workout breakfast), 2, scrambled eggs with veggies (post-workout breakfast), salad loaded with more veggies and a boiled egg (lunch), Kind bar (afternoon snack), and portabello mushrooms stuffed with mozzarella cheese and marinara sauce (dinner). I also need to drink way more water since I’m so bad about that. I’m hopeful that this grand experiment will go well and I’d like to lose 5 pounds by Christmas. The hardest part for me will be limiting my beer intake (one of the negative aspects of living near a dozen breweries in a 10 mile radius) but success will taste much sweeter.

Leave a Reply

