And We’re Back

We recently returned from vacation and it’s hard to believe it’s already over. It was a lot of fun and much-needed break.

However.

Curiosity got the best of DH and I and we weighed ourselves the day after we got back. We ate and drank A LOT because it was, y’know, vacation. We both gained a good amount of weight but I’m not worried about it. I tend to drop weight fairly quickly after long trips (I’m already down a pound). While DH and I were at the airport waiting to catch our last flight, we started planning our next trip. To help save up (and eat better) we’re going to test out a meal plan. We were already somewhat adhering to one, but it was a week at a time. This time we’re going to try 2 weeks at a time and try to use recipes that are both healthy and budget-friendly. I’m creating a binder of recipes so that we’ll always have them on hand (and will have fewer excuses).

I did pretty well with abstaining from beer in the weeks leading up to the trip. I think I had one or two and I kept them light (under 6%). Now that we’re back home, I’ll still try to be more mindful of my alcohol intake, since 90% of the time tipsy/drunk me = very hungry/I eat all the things me. DH and I also agreed to keep our alcohol fairly well-stocked at home so that we drink (and spend) less when we go out. By well-stocked, I mean 1-2 bottles of wine and a 6 pack (or a growler) of beer. That’s it. We’re getting low on our spirits and don’t intend to restock except for DH’s favorite liquor, but even then we’ll just keep the one bottle.

Regarding exercise, I’ll maintain my usual routine of running a couple of miles then weights. It’s almost summer, when it gets so hot you damn near burst into flames while going to get the mail, so I’m going to try and take advantage of running outside over the next couple of weeks.

I’m excited about the changes, especially since at this time point they don’t seem to difficult to make.

Leave a Reply

